The krazy life of triathlon

Racing Pro

So whilst down at the Aquathlon on thursday (race report to follow) I jokingly suggested I should try and get an elite slot at Liverpool on thursday after Joe suggested it as he was down anyway. I was half tempted but then forgot about it.

On friday I thought about it again, but not seriously, then Joe rang me and suggested why not. And why not? The pro entry gets paid for, I could get a lift down and worse case I would have a solid training session. So I sent an email off to the organisers with my recent results and when I had awoken from my nap I had a reply with the pro entry code and information! I was surprised to say the least! Somehow they thought I was good enough to race against people like Fraser Cartmell and Stuart Hayes!

So this afternoon we headed down to the pro race briefing where we went through everything, and then at the end the commentator came up to me as she didn’t have any information on me (how surprising!) and wanted to know about me for when all the pros get introduced to the crowd before the race…. aha! Now I realise how in over my head I am! So I told her about my IMs and my packed July and then she said “so is this your first year as a pro?” Umm! Anyway, it will be an experience! Plus, I think I am the youngest ‘pro’ there.

So tomorrow I am well aware that I am going be in for a complete hammering, especially on the swim. If I come out within 5 minutes of the front guys I will be happy! Hopefully there will be some feet I can draft off, and if I can get under 22 minutes I will be very pleased. Then it will be a case of smashing the bike and seeing how quickly I can run. I don’t have any expectations, I am just in it for the experience. It would be nice to see how many of the women I could beat, as hopefully I will out-bike most of them though I expect them to put a lot of time into me on the swim and run. But hey, I’m a long course guy so it doesn’t matter 😉

2 responses

  1. Chris weeks

    Gonna be a long painful day mate, should push you to a good time tho! Beat of luck pal!

    June 25, 2011 at 8:10 pm

    • agentti

      Cheers buddy, going to be a hurtfest!

      June 25, 2011 at 8:21 pm

Leave a Reply

