The krazy life of triathlon

Preparing For Lanzarote Training Camp

Well if there is one thing I have learnt during my prep for this camp, is don’t leave everything til the last minute, especially ordering any kit I need! Being winter, and the start of the new year, there is no summer kit in stock as all the lines are refreshed, and all the good training aids are all sold out as people make good on their New Year’s Resolutions! So I have spent a good amount of the last weekend scouring the internet looking for kit! Just hope it arrives in time!

Anyway, 3 days out from camp with Man Tri, were a group of 24 of us are all heading to Club La Santa in Lanzarote for a week’s training. We have a huge range of things to do, with sessions offered by La Santa, and our own MTC organised sessions. We were sent a list of all the sessions happening and a recommended plan, from which I took what I think would suit me the best. I have selected a huge load of training to do, fitting in with my minimum aims as stated earlier:

  • Bike 30k a day
  • Swim 1.5k a day
  • Run 5k a day

Given my current training load, I could expect to achieve about 20 hours of training in a dedicated week, however I have scheduled about 35! It will be interesting to see how I hold up. I know I adapt quickly and can swim/bike/run myself into fitness over the first few days, but overuse and general exhaustion could play a big part in how much I can do. The facilities at La Santa do seem to be really good, so I can have massages and do lots of yoga and gym sessions to keep myself in a good state. Whatever happens, I am going to be sleeping lots!

I am expecting big things from the week, especially in my swimming. The opportunity to be swimming regularly, with a squad, with a coach, with training aids (finally brought myself some!) and structured sessions should improve it dramatically. I know what I can do 10x100m on at the moment, so will see how it goes when I get back! With regular running, I should get my form back again, which will be nice, and my cycling endurance should improve a lot over the week from all the miles. It will set me up for a very good season hopefully!

You will also notice a Massage Class thrown in there, which I have managed to squeeze into a gap in the training, which should give me a lot of help with self massage/helping others, and also let my girlfriend know how to massage legs properly! Anyway, enough talk, here’s the plan for the week:

Lanzarote Training Plan

Lanzarote Training Plan - Click To Enlarge

As part of camp, I have splashed out on some nice Assos shorts in the hope that they will save the nether regions from pain in long consistent rides, especially in the Fred Whitton Challenge, which I have been accepted onto with a team from work! That is going to be one tough day. Luckily I can preview most of the course as it is fairly local, so can check gear ratios, but I think it is going to have to be a compact chainset! But will be awesome preparation for Ironman training. I have also splashed out on a Bike Box Alan to transport my faithful steed around the world with me. It has cool stickers, with my name on it, with more to come; almost makes me look like an athlete…

My Bike Box!

3 responses

  1. Pingback: Packed And Ready To Go! « Kona Krazy

  2. Pingback: Lanzarote Yoga Retreat – Latest Lanzarote Yoga Retreat news – ACTIVITY ADVENTURES LANZAROTE: Yoga in Lanzarote

  3. Pingback: Wordpress 2010 in review « Kona Krazy

Leave a Reply

