The krazy life of triathlon

Winter Training

Well I think it is fair to say that my winter training was a bit of a failure… I had a good start, managed to get a good few bike rides in and swims and then the weather hit. Combine that with travelling all over the country visiting the family and girlfriend, and lots of non-Paleo good food, I am nicely out of shape!

Well now the break is properly over, the real work starts… as soon as this weather goes away! At the moment I am unable to ride and run outside thanks to all the ice, and can’t get to the gym or pool… thanks to all the ice! Thankfully it is beginning to clear up, so I might actually be able to get off the turbo soon!

I have just over 2 weeks now until I leave for Lanzarote, so the purpose of these 2 weeks is to get myself back into some sort of shape so I can have a good camp. I haven’t yet heard anything about the training we are doing out there but I imagine we will have time to train to ourselves as well so here are my aims for the camp:

  • Swim minimum of 1.5k a day
  • Bike every day, (which will hopefully be group rides) but minimum of 30k a day with a couple of big rides in
  • Run a minimum of 5k a day
  • Run after every ride over 60k
  • Run myself into the ground!

Lanzarote will mark the start of my dedicated training for IM Switzerland, which I will prepare my plan during down time in Lanza. It will include a good base period of around 10 weeks. A main point of concentration, as well as the usual long steady workouts, will be a focus of diet, and maintaining a Plaeo diet as much as possible and restricting my carbs. The point of this is to encourage the body to use more fat, and to make it burn it more efficiently, which it won’t do if there is a load of carbs available. This will have the effect that I will be able to work at a higher rate for longer as I can use my fairly endless supply of fats in the body more and less of my limited supply of carbs. This will also have the effect that when I do take carbs, it should give me a massive boost and reduce my risk of bonking.

After the base period, I will add in some speed work and finish with a 5 week build/3 week taper up to the race. Throw in 2 trips to Russia and its going to be a busy few months! Happy days!

Tim

Leave a Reply

