The krazy life of triathlon

Week 9

Totals for week 9:

Swim: 4.8k
Bike: 123.88k
Run: 29.5k
Commute: 56k

This puts the running totals at the end of week 9 as:
Bike: 822 km
Swim: 37.5 km
Run: 166.5 km
Commuting 256 km

Well I have finally had a decent week of solid training. The swimming is continuing to improve, with some good speed work with the tri club, may hve to move up a lane after next time, once I have ironed out my bad habits! I will miss my 2.5k swim test on thurs for the session, but I feel that is far better than busting out a test, especially as I have broken 50 mins, which is what I am aiming to do.

Cycling is it’s usual self, had less commuting to do this week, so the legs have been feeling a bit fresher, and had a good ride on saturday, with lots of climbs and mostly into the wind, which is helping to build some endurance. Am slightly ahead of where I should be for cycling according to my plan so pretty happy with that.

Running is going even better! Had my 2nd week of full run training, doing all the sessions I should be doing, for the durations that I want (though not where I should be without the injuries). Managed an hour for my long run, with no discomfort in the knees, so very happy with that. Now I just need to continue to build up my running and get the longer runs in, to try and build a good base for the IM. I have missed probably around 6/7 weeks of base training for running, so will not be as fit come race day, but I have 21 weeks to make that up so as long as I am strong off the bike, it should be OK, just a bit slower on the marathon.

Speaking of time remaining, I am now about to start my last week of the base phase. After this, I add an extra swim a week, all of which go up to 3k in length, I have an extra bike, when my thursday recovery/technical session now moves to sunday, and thursday becomes speed work, and I add another run after my ride on saturday to get used to running off the bike. This will now mean I will be training 2-4 times a day, 6 days a week including weights! (May also add an extra core session into training). Feeling fit though, already looking slimmer and am pleased with the progress!
One response

  1. mike

    you’re absolutely crazy. mike

    March 9, 2009 at 9:18 am

Leave a Reply

